rss Silago barangay is once again among best lupons in the country

February 16, 2013

Lupon-SilagoBrgy. Hingatungan, Silago, Southern Leyte is the National Awardee (champion) for barangays in 4th - 6th class municipalities in the Lupong Tagamapayapa Incentive Award (LTIA). 

Regional Director Pedro A. Noval Jr. of the Department of the Interior and Local Government (DILG)-8 revealed that they have been notified of such development by their Central Office through a letter dated January 31, 2013.

Dir. Noval credited Brgy. Hingatungan for being a consistent regional LTIA champion and having won the national award in 2003 and 2007 and figuring in the Top 3 in other times.

“The Hingatungan Lupong Tagapamayapa (HILUTA) is composed of senior citizens noted for their innovative and creative activities and deep sense of volunteerism, thereby giving value and significance to the Katarungang Pambarangay,” informed Dir Noval.

It was further learned that DILG is just waiting for advice from Malacañang on when President Benigno S. Aquino III would be available to present the award to Brgy. Hingatungan Punong Barangay Rosalinda Lumaas and other awardees in the LTIA national recognition ceremonies.

Among 4th to 6th class towns, the other regional finalists are Brgy. Nena, San Julian, Eastern Samar; Brgy. Bulalacao, Kawayan, Biliran; and Brgy. San Juan in San Isidro, Northern Samar.

In the 1st to 3rd class municipalities, the Regional Champion is Brgy. Biasong in Hinunangan, Southern Leyte which won over Brgy. Calachuchi in Catarman, Northern Samar; and Brgy. Amandayehan in Basey, Samar.
Brgy. 69 Rawis, Anibong, topped the evaluation of top performing Lupong Tagapamayapa in the region's only Highly Urbanized City (HUC), Tacloban City.

Meanwhile, Brgy. Cogon in Ormoc City bested Brgys. Rawis in Calbayog City; Tagnipa in Maasin City and Brgy. Bato in Borongan City for the category of Independent Component/Component Cities in the region.

The LTIA aims to provide recognition to performing Lupons, which are barangay conflict-resolution bodies under the Katarungang Pambarangay Law in 1978 and strengthened by the Local Government Code of 1991.

The LTIA Regional Award Committee (RAC) is led by DILG with the participation of the judiciary, Philippine Association of State Universities and Colleges, private schools, among others. The RAC assessed the submitted documentation of regional finalists together with the results of the regional evaluation team which conducted onsite validation.

The lupons were evaluated by committees organized at the regional, provincial and municipal levels on the basis of a) efficiency of operations; b) effectiveness in securing the katarungang pambarangay objectives and c) creativity and resourcefulness of mediators.###


by Myles Joseph E. Colasito

(DILG8 Regional Info Officer)





visit president









 Integrated Library Management System link


Visitor Count

Back to Top